All about girls weekend: Part 2

13 Dec

Sunday was the Girls on the run 5k I volunteered to be a running buddy in.  I guess this post is a sure sign that I survived!!! I had expressed concern in a previous post about some lower back pain I was experiencing during runs, worried I would be the one needing the “buddy” to encourage me.  I’m glad to report the run was pain free!

This was my first “official” run.  I have done many of the annual walks in our community for various different causes but never a run. I was a little nervous/excited all morning. 

I’m not one that can eat breakfast as soon as I wake up so what did I pack with me for pre-race fuel you ask?  …homemade chocolate chip oatmeal cookies, oh yeah I went there.  lol I had 2 just to have something in my belly. I’m sure that proves I’m a so not a pro at this running stuff.

I found the registration table and got my bib, had Hubs totally put it in the wrong spot (cuz again I’m not  a pro), the back cuz I thought that is where they go.  Did it matter? No. I saw them in front and back on random people.  I learned on this post by Caitlin who ran a 5k with a newbie that it goes in front or thigh.  

DSC06060

I love that we all got #1’s Smile

I then got my bag o’ goodies and found the running buddy table, who then directed me to my designated school group. I found the coach and she paired me up with Nazhea (pronounced Nah-Jay).

DSC06062

My buddy did awesome and couldn’t have been a better match for me.  I made sure and kept up with her pace. We would run as much as she could followed by a walk to ensure she was catching her breath and not in pain.  We set mini goals to start running again at X landmark and run until we reached X landmark and that worked great for both of us Winking smile 

This is us at the halfway mark.

DSC06063

After this she caught her second wind and we get through the 2nd lap much quicker.  She even said she wanted to go a third lap, lol, we didn’t but it was cute to hear. 

Here we are at the finish, just under 45 minutes.DSC06065

This is a great accomplishment for a 10 year old, heck even for a 33 year old (me) Winking smile

DSC06067

DSC06068

I really enjoyed helping Nazhea accomplish what she has been training for since the beginning of the school year. All 300+ of the girls did great!

Personally, I enjoyed everything about this day. So much so that I told the Hubs that I want to do a “grown up” 5k now!! WHAT??!!?!

7 Responses to “All about girls weekend: Part 2”

  1. TheSceneFromMe December 14, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Great job and Congratulations! So rewarding I am sure to have done that with all those girls!

  2. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings December 15, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    You are so adorable Nance. Great job on the run! I can’t wait to hear about the big kid race!!LOL!
    xo
    Mindy

    • Nancy's Perfect 10 December 18, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

      Thx chica. I am looking into the grown up race. Right now is the perfect time in az!

  3. ihearteggs December 15, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    What a great experiance! That’s a really great idea for young girls to get them active!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It is 2011, what now? | Nancy's Perfect 10 - January 9, 2011

    […] for a 5k. After doing the Girls on the run 5k it left an itch to do a “grown up”, can’t […]

Leave a Reply

